Curtis Symphony Orchestra

Comprised of outstanding talent and unmatched enthusiasm for musical collaboration, Curtis Symphony Orchestra stands as a cornerstone of the Curtis Institute of Music experience and a vital component of Philadelphia’s vibrant cultural scene. For 100 years, our exceptional students have sharpened their skills and broadened their musical horizons, as they prepare for professional careers with the world’s foremost orchestras and chamber ensembles.

  • Subscribe and Save

    Subscribe to the 2024–25 season and get the best seats at the best prices. Subscriptions available now.

  • Subscribe Now
  • Contact

    Phone: (215) 893-7902
    Hours: Mon–Fri from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Prokofiev & Time for Three

Experience a transcendent musical journey with renowned Finnish conductor Osmo Vänskä, GRAMMY Award-winning ensemble Time for Three, and the Curtis Symphony Orchestra. As we commence the historic centennial season, our program plays homage to the past while embracing the future with Jean Sibelius’s Finlandia, Jennifer Higdon’s Concerto 4-3, and Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5.

Dvořák & Price with Yannick

Embark on a musical odyssey with GRAMMY Award-winning conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin and the Curtis Symphony Orchestra. In this enchanting afternoon, delight in groundbreaking works by luminaries Samuel Coleridge-Taylor and Florence Price, harmoniously paired with Antonín Dvořák’s pastoral Symphony No. 8.

Ray Chen Plays Barber

Renowned violinist Ray Chen, celebrated for his “gorgeous tone” (Chicago Tribune) and “full-bodied lyricism” (New York Times), joins forces with the Curtis Symphony Orchestra for an electrifying rendition of Samuel Barber’s Violin Concerto, conducted by acclaimed artist and Curtis alumnus Teddy Abrams. 

Yuja Wang Plays Bernstein

Witness the breathtaking culmination of the Curtis Symphony Orchestra’s 2024–25 series as acclaimed pianist and Curtis alumna Yuja Wang takes center stage. Celebrated for her “exceptional power, depth, and dazzle” (Los Angeles Times), Yuja collaborates with award-winning conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin to deliver Leonard Bernstein’s (Conducting ’41) astonishing, jazz-influenced Symphony No. 2: The Age of Anxiety.

Special Thanks

Orchestral concerts are supported by the Jack Wolgin Curtis Orchestral Concerts Endowment Fund. Guest conductor appearances for each Curtis Symphony Orchestra performance are made possible by the Rita E. and Gustave M. Hauser Chair in Conducting Studies.

Orchestral concerts are supported by the Jack Wolgin Curtis Orchestral Concerts Endowment Fund.

The Jack Wolgin Orchestra Concerts