Roberto Díaz, President and CEO

Nina von Maltzahn President’s Chair

A violist of international reputation, Roberto Díaz is president and CEO of the Curtis Institute of Music, following in the footsteps of renowned soloist/directors such as Josef Hofmann, Efrem Zimbalist, and Rudolf Serkin. As a teacher of viola at Curtis and former principal viola of the Philadelphia Orchestra, Mr. Díaz has already had a significant impact on American musical life and continues to do so in his dual roles as performer and educator.

Board of Trustees

The board of trustees of the Curtis Institute of Music has ultimate oversight and authority over the business and affairs of the school.

The Mary Louise Curtis Bok Foundation Board of Directors

The Curtis Institute of Music receives annual operating support from the Mary Louise Curtis Bok Foundation, a not-for-profit corporation formed exclusively for charitable, scientific, and educational purposes, particularly the support of music and musical education. The foundation’s board of directors has determined that Curtis should be the sole recipient of financial support.

  • Bayard R. Fiechter, president

    Victoria Bok, vice president

    Joseph M. Field, secretary

    Scott M. Jenkins, treasurer


    A. Margaret “Stormy” Bok

    Tomas J. Bok, Ph.D.

    Gary Graffman

    James R. “Robin” Ledwith†

    Milton L. Rock, Ph.D.

    Robert H. Rock

    Brett Rubinson

    Samuel R. Shipley III

    † deceased


Work at Curtis