Summerfest Faculty Recital: Debussy, Fauré, and Jongen

Curtis Summerfest Faculty Recitals, now in their fourth year, feature distinguished chamber musicians from the Curtis Summerfest faculty. These remarkable artists, many of them Curtis alumni, perform a variety of repertoire—from beloved classics to the music of today—in the timeless setting of Field Concert Hall.


Sonata eroïca, Op. 94
Patrick Kreeger, organ


Desirée Ruhstrat, violin
Garrett Arney, marimba

arr. arx duo

Circus Polka

Mari Yoshinaga, marimba
Garrett Arney, marimba



Matthew Duvall, percussion
Lisa Kaplan, piano


Matthew Duvall, percussion
Mari Yoshinaga, marimba
Garrett Arney, marimba
Lisa Kaplan, piano


Sonora Slocum, flute


Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 15
Desirée Ruhstrat, violin
Sharon Wei, viola
David Cunliffe, cello
Natalie Zhu, piano



Sonora Slocum

Sonora Slocum (’11) is principal flute of the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra. She has performed in orchestras around the country, including appearances with the Philadelphia Orchestra; and with the Chicago Symphony and the Orpheus Chamber orchestras as guest principal flute. She has recorded and toured with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra; appeared on video recordings with the Philharmonia Orchestra of New York; and collaborated with the contemporary group Eighth Blackbird.

Desirée Ruhstat

Violinist Desirée Ruhstrat (’07) is renowned as a soloist, chamber musician, and teacher across Europe and the Americas. She has appeared as a soloist with orchestras throughout the world, and won numerous awards. A member of the Lincoln Trio, Ms. Ruhstrat has performed throughout South America, Europe, and Asia—the trio received a 2016 Grammy nomination. Ms. Ruhstrat serves as string chamber music coordinator at Northwestern University.

Sharon Wei

Canadian violist Sharon Wei (’04) is a dynamic musician, establishing herself as one of the most respected violists on the scene today. A soloist, chamber musician, and orchestra principal, she has collaborated with conductors James Levine, Kent Nagano, Paavo Järvi, Zubin Mehta, and Yuri Termirkanov, among others. Ms. Wei co-founded Ensemble Made in Canada, which won a CBC rising stars award and is currently ensemble-in-residence at Western University, where Ms. Wei also serves as assistant professor.

David Cunliffe

As a founding member of the Grammy-nominated Lincoln Trio, cellist David Cunliffe has performed throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, and South America. An new music enthusiast, Mr. Cunliffe has premiered numerous new works and worked with composers including George Crumb, Augusta Read Thomas, Terry Reilly, Michael Nyman, Chen Yi, Zhou Long, Pierre Jalbert, Shulamit Ran, and Joan Tower. He is currently on the faculty of the Music Institute of Chicago.

Lisa Kaplan

Lisa Kaplan is a pianist specializing in the performance of new work by living composers. Ms. Kaplan is also the founding pianist of the four-time Grammy Award-winning sextet Eighth Blackbird, for which she also composes and arranges. She has premiered new pieces by hundreds of composers, including Andy Akiho, Chen Yi, Derek Bermel, Jennifer Higdon, Amy Beth Kirsten, David Lang, Nico Muhly, George Perle, and Steve Reich. Ms. Kaplan is the recipient of a 2013 3Arts Award, among other awards and honors.

Natalie Zhu

Pianist Natalie Zhu (’97) is the recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant, a Musical Fund Society Career Advancement Award, and the Andrew Wolf Chamber Music Award; and a winner of Astral’s National Auditions. Ms. Zhu toured and collaborated with violinist Hilary Hahn for several years, with projects including a Carnegie Hall recital debut and a recording for Deutsche Grammophon. An active chamber musician, she has appeared in the Skaneateles, Marlboro, Tanglewood, Amelia Island, Great Lakes, and Kingston festivals.


Patrick Kreeger

Patrick Kreeger (’13) enjoys a versatile career as a pianist, organist, and choral conductor. Mr. Kreeger made his concerto debut in April 2008 with the North Carolina Symphony. He has been a guest soloist with the Musica Sacra Chamber Orchestra (Colo.), the Chilliwack Symphony Orchestra, the SUNY–Purchase Conservatory Orchestra, Symphonicity, and the Barton College/Wilson Symphony Orchestra. Mr Kreeger is associate organist at Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church in New York City.

Garrett Arney

Garrett Arney has a passion for developing the genre of percussion music which has inspired many composers and musicians. His recent projects include the commission and premiere of Book of Grooves by Alejandro Vinao and collaborations with composers Martin Bresnick and James Wood, among others. As a member of Ensemble ACJW, he performs regularly at Carnegie Hall and works as a teaching artist at schools in New York City and along the east coast. In 2012 he formed arx duo with fellow percussionist Mari Yoshinaga.

Matthew Duvall

Matthew Duvall is a co-artistic director, founding member, and percussionist of the award-winning chamber ensemble Eighth Blackbird, named Ensemble of the Year by Musical America in 2016. The group, which records for Cedille Records, has received four GRAMMY awards. Eighth Blackbird has served as ensemble in residence at the Curtis Institute of Music, the universities of Chicago and Richmond, and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago.

Mari Yoshinaga

Percussionist Mari Yoshinaga (’12) performs solo, chamber, and orchestral music and has worked with conductors such as Simon Rattle, Charles Dutoit, Christoph Eschenbach, and Alan Gilbert. Her recent performances include recitals in Tokyo and Kagoshima in Japan; Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos, Percussion, and Orchestra with the Curtis Symphony Orchestra in Philadelphia’s Verizon Hall; and the world premiere and recording of Paul Lansky’s Partita: Suite for Guitar and Percussion for Bridge Records, a collaboration with guitarist David Starobin. In 2012 she formed arx duo with fellow percussionist Garrett Arney.