Graduation Recital: Kenshi Miyatani, horn

Hornist Kenshi Miyatani draws extensively upon music written in the second half of the 20th century. He opens with Reinhold Glière’s Horn Concerto, one of the composer’s final and most popular compositions. Henri Tomasi’s own Concerto, also written in the early 1950s, expresses a heroic lyricism alongside the composer’s post-war disillusionment. The recital concludes with two works that evoke bodies of water: Franz Schubert’s yearning “Auf dem Strom” and the dizzying final movement of Peter Maxwell Davies’s Sea Eagle, a composition inspired by the Scottish seaside Davies called home. 


Program (subject to change)

REINHOLD GLIÈRE    Concerto in B-flat major, Op. 91
FRANZ SCHUBERT “Auf dem Strom,” D. 943
  Kenshi Miyatani, horn
  Wako Iwamoto, piano
PETER MAXWELL DAVIES      Presto molto, from Sea Eagle, Op. 103
  Kenshi Miyatani, horn