Graduation Recital: Claire Bourg, violin

Violinist Claire Bourg begins her recital with Eugène Ysaÿe’s joyful Sonata in G major, which includes a rustic country dance. Her performance continues with Béla Bartók’s Sonata for Solo Violin. One of Bartók’s final works, the sonata was written during the exiled Hungarian’s last year alive. The program concludes with Franz Schubert’s dazzling Fantasy in C major. Schubert composed the work for a rival of legendary violinist Niccolò Paganini, so you can expect plenty of fireworks! 


Program (subject to change)

EUGÈNE YSAŸE    Sonata in G major, Op. 27, No. 5
  Danse rustique 
  Claire Bourg, violin 
BÉLA BARTÓK Sonata for Solo Violin
  Tempo di ciaccona
  Fuga: Risoluto, non troppo
  Melodia: Adagio
  Claire Bourg, violin 
FRANZ SCHUBERT      Fantasy in C major, D. 934 
  Claire Bourg, violin 
  Michelle Cann, piano