Biss Plays Beethoven at VERIZON HALL

Please note: This concert has been moved to Verizon Hall. All ticket holders will receive a personalized e-mail with updated ticket information. For additional questions, please contact (215) 893-7902.


Osmo Vänskä, conductor
Jonathan Biss, piano

SMITH f(x) = sin²x –1/x
BEETHOVEN          Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73 (“Emperor”)
SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43

Beethoven’s masterful “Emperor” Concerto is a monument of musical architecture, driven forward with beautiful flourishes and cascades. Esteemed Curtis piano faculty Jonathan Biss is the soloist, joined by conductor Osmo Vänskä. Also on the program is a new work by Curtis alumna Gabriella Smith. The program soars to a rousing conclusion with Sibelius’s majestic Symphony No. 2.

Additional Performances


This program will be performed in cities across the country during 2020 as part of Curtis on Tour, the Nina von Maltzahn global touring initiative of the Curtis Institute of Music. View the full schedule

Explore the Works

Curtis’s evening seminars on January 21, 23, and 28 will deepen your experience of concertgoing through an exploration of the repertoire presented on this Curtis Symphony Orchestra concert. Taught by the chair of Curtis’s musical studies department, Jonathan Coopersmith, the seminars provide an expert dive into each composer’s life and the historical context of the corresponding programming. After attending, you’ll hear the Curtis Symphony Orchestra in performance with intimate knowledge of the repertoire and performers, transforming your listening experience. Learn more.