Curtis Crescendo Club

A note from our co-chairs

The Curtis Crescendo Club hosts a series of exclusive events each year to introduce Philadelphia's young professionals to the myriad musical talents of Curtis students. Many of these students will soon shine on the world's leading stages, following in the steps of Curtis alumni like Leonard Bernstein, Jennifer Higdon, and Lang Lang. 

Since 1927, students have attended the Curtis Institute of Music tuition-free, allowing the school to attract the finest young musicians from around the world. To demonstrate their support, Crescendo Club members donate funds to support an annual fellowship for one of Curtis's incredible students. The current Crescendo Club fellow is Joshua Halpern, an award-winning cellist from Dayton, Ohio, whose education we are thrilled to support.

We look forward to sharing the Curtis experience with you at an upcoming performance.

Eileen Murphy and C.J. Walsh III, co-chairs of the Crescendo Club Steering Committee

Join today with a contribution of $100 or more.


Upcoming Curtis Crescendo Club Events 

Curtis Symphony Orchestra presents: American Images

Sunday, January 27, 2019 
Verizon Hall at the Kimmel Center, 300 S. Broad Street, Philadelphia
3:00 p.m. Performance
After-party to follow with light snacks and cash bar at Treble and Base Bar at  Cambria

Join the Crescendo Club as the Curtis Symphony Orchestra presents a portrait of American life and experience. Signature works by Charles Ives and Aaron Copland—The Unanswered Question and the Pulitzer Prize-winning Appalachian Spring—paint a picture of our nation’s emerging musical vernacular in the 20th century inspired by traditional hymns, folk songs, and the transcendental movement. They frame the Philadelphia premiere of the Tuba Concerto by Curtis faculty and alumna Jennifer Higdon, one of today's most popular and widely performed composers, who creates a virtuosic showcase for Curtis tuba faculty and alumnus Craig Knox. Learn more.


$25 for non-members
$17.50 for members 
Price includes a reserved seat with other members of the Curtis Crescendo Club and admission to the after-party. 



Curtis Crescendo Club Steering Committee, 2018–19

C. J. Walsh III, co-chair
Eileen Murphy, co-chair
R. C. Atlee
Danielle Bourgeon
Christina Brus
Alice Anne Dolbin
Elizabeth Frey
Amanda P. Howell
Byron Kho
Kate Lambertsen
Filiz Leigh
Matthew Malinowski
Kelly McFarland
Philippe Poirier
Marianna Tretiak
Marija Ugrinich
Dean Vetsikas
Alexandra von der Embse (Oboe '12)
Kai Xu


Filiz Leigh, associate director of individual giving, (215) 717-3131 or